Ella Bella’s Maple Roasted Butternut Squash Soup

Prep time: About 7 minutes

Cooking time: About 35 minutes

Calories per serving: 199 (based on 6 servings, about 2 cups each)

Image

This is by far, the best soup I have ever made!

I must admit this has been inspired by Kamasouptra’s Maple Roasted Butternut Squash Soup. I fell in love with its creamy goodness the first time I tasted it. I just knew I had to try recreating it as I couldn’t seem to get enough of it!

And so I picked up some frozen butternut squash last week at the grocery store. I think I nailed it, folks! I am extremely happy with how this came out.

Let me share this awesome recipe with all soup lovers out there. Here are the ingredients:

Frozen butternut squash, preferably thawed (2 bags, about 6 cups)

2 tablespoons olive oil

Maple syrup (about 3 tablespoons)

1 cup carrots, diced

1 tsp cumin

½ teaspoon turmeric

1 tsp sea salt

½ tsp black pepper

¼ tsp ground sage

½ tsp onion powder

2 cloves garlic, minced

3 cups chicken broth

½ cup half and half

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (204 degrees C).

In a medium mixing bowl, combine the squash and carrots with cumin, sea salt, pepper, turmeric and olive oil. Give it a toss with both your hands to coat the squash as evenly as possible.

Line a large baking sheet with foil. Spread the squash onto the foil and spread them out so there’s some space in between squash slices. Note that I used a rimmed baking sheet. Drizzle some maple syrup over the seasoned squash. Roast squash for about 35 minutes, stirring not needed.

Once the squash and carrots are roasted, heat up a large pot with a little bit of olive oil. Sweat the garlic then add in the squash. Add in the chicken stock, onion powder, ground sage and salt and pepper to taste. Simmer for about 15 minutes on medium heat. Then, mix in the half and half, give it a good stir, and keep simmering on medium low for another 5 minutes.

Remove the pot from heat, let cool for about 10 minutes. Puree the soup using a blender. I had to do mine in 2 batches in order to achieve the consistency I was looking for. Serve warm – best served with a warm dinner roll.

Eat well and be well. – Ella Bella

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

