Vegetable Pesto Grilled Cheese alla Ella Bella

Prep time: About 15 minutes, including pesto prep

Cooking time: About 7 to 10 minutes

Calories per serving: 313 (based on one serving)

Image

I recently tried the Vegetable Pesto Panini at the Public Market right next to my office here in downtown Portland. While it was really delicious, I just couldn’t justify spending $7 for lunch. Sure, it came with a cup of soup of the day, but still…

You see, I am a very practical person. I bring in lunch, not only because I love making my own, but also because I know I save a lot in doing so.

Now I finally got to try my hand at this yummy concoction. I bought some basil at the grocery store and also picked a bag of frozen summer veggies.

Ella Bella’s Homemade Pesto , 1 serving

Pepperidge Farm – White Sandwich Bread, 2 slices

My Essentials – American Cheese Singles, 1 slice

About ¼ cup Seasoned Summer Vegetables, cooked

Some spreadable butter, about a teaspoon

How to make pesto, you ask? It’s really easy! Take a look at this picture from theberry.com and I’m sure you’ll agree it is a no sweat process!

Image

Of course you can also use store-bought pesto. Just note that the calorie count will be different.

Let’s make our sandwich then. Prepare a small sauté (preferably non-stick) pan.

Spread the pesto on one of the bread slices. Next, arrange the cooked vegetables on the said bread slice.

Top with a cheese slice and the other bread slice.

Spread some butter on both sides of the sandwich. Just do it carefully so as the filling remains intact.

Turn the stove top heat on medium or medium low and let the sandwich grill. You’ll know when it’s done when

both sides are golden brown and the cheese is slightly melted.

Dig in while it’s warm! You wouldn’t want to miss the cheesy goodness. Btw, in case you’re wondering,

I did choose to skip any chips or fries. Hurrah for healthier choices 😉

                                                                                                       Eat well and be well. – Ella Bella

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

