Ella Bella’s Easy Chili con Carne

Prep time:  About 5 minutes

Cooking time:  About 20 minutes

Calories per serving: 238 (based on 6 servings)

Image 

Perfect for game day (Superbowl in a few hours)! This is also comforting on a cold day.

Did I say easy? Yes, it’s absolutely easy to make! This is also cooked on the stove top so anyone can try it at home 🙂

So here is a short list of everything you need to make this tasty dish:

1 lb hamburg (ground beef, I used leftover taco beef)

1 can Goya Pinto beans, liquid drained

1 small can diced tomatoes (I used the kind with diced green chilies), liquid drained

1 small onion, sliced for sautéing

2 cloves garlic, minced

Salt and black pepper, to taste

1 tbsp cornstarch dissolved in about 1 tbsp of cool water

Heat up about a teaspoon of canola or olive oil in a medium sauce pan. Sauté the garlic, then the onion until they are slightly browned. Add the beef. Note that I used leftover taco beef (I hate wasting food!), so I didn’t have to season too much. Season with sea salt and pepper.

Let the beef simmer on medium low heat for about 10 minutes. Add the diced tomatoes and keep simmering for another 5 to 7 minutes. Add the beans and simmer for another 5 minutes just for all the flavors to get incorporated. I added the cornstarch mixture into my mixture to thicken it. Simmer for another minute or so.

Turn off heat. Transfer about 1 cup of chili in a bowl. Serve with grated mozzarella or cheddar cheese and a dollop of light sour cream. I also cut up some tortilla strips and put them on top as garnish. My team is not in the Superbowl today, but I will still feast with my family. Ha! Enjoy!

Notes: Since I used leftover taco beef, I didn’t have to cook my chili that long. Simmer for an additional 15 minutes if you are using fresh ground beef.

The calorie count does not include cheese, sour cream or tortilla strips.

                                                                                           Eat well and be well. – Ella Bella

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

