Ella Bella’s Asian-style Cornish Hens

Prep time: About 10 minutes

Cooking Time: Minimum of 4 hours in the slow cooker

Calories per serving:  276

Image

Okay, you can blame this on Food Network for this. Just kidding. I’m actually thankful for the inspiration. Watching all those shows are finally paying off, LOL!

I wasn’t sure what meat to get for the week when I found the Cornish hens from my local grocery store. I looked at the label which read $5.55, for 2 hens! I was sold! So now here we are, sharing this delicious creation.

Here are the ingredients:

2 Cornish Hens, halved

¼ cup low sodium chicken broth

¼ cup marsala cooking wine

Pinch of Sea salt

Pinch of freshly-ground black pepper

1 tablespoon of olive oil

2 tablespoons low sodium soy sauce

1 tablespoon sriracha or a teaspoon of ground cayenne pepper

1 tablespoon hoisin sauce

1.5 tablespoons honey

1 teaspoon dried thyme

1/8 teaspoon turmeric

½ teaspoon onion powder

1 tablespoon dried garlic

1/8 teaspoon

1 teaspoon lemongrass

I cut the hens into half. I thought of doing this so it would be easier for them to absorb the flavors while they’re in the slow cooker. Plus it’s definitely easier to serve and eat.

Next, I pan fried the hens until both sides were browned. It took about 10 minutes each side on medium to accomplish the right kind of brown I was looking for. Then I set aside.

Like a mad scientist, I mixed together the soy sauce and all other spices (ingredients #5 onwards). Your mixture will look like this:

Image

Prep up your slow cooker/crockpot. Put in the marsala cooking wine and chicken broth.  Baste your hens with the soy sauce mixture by using a pastry brush. Arrange each Cornish hen half atop the broth mixture in the crockpot and cover. Let cook on low for 6 to 8 hours.

About the mushrooms, I had some in my chiller and thought they would complement the dish great since I used some marsala wine in slow cooking. I put in the rinsed mushrooms during the last hour of cooking so that they don’t get too soggy.

Image

The best part about this dish is that you can play around with the side dishes. I also had my roasted cabbage wedges and just warm jasmine rice for lunch one time. Have fun with it. Hope you get to try it soon!

                                                                                                        Eat well and be well. – Ella Bella

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

