Grilled Asian-inspired Chicken Thighs (and Smoky Brussels Sprouts)

Prep time: About 10 minutes

Grilling Time: 20 to 25 minutes

Calories per serving:  Just 169 per thigh

Get your grill on, friends! If the weather makes you avoid your oven like the plague, then I think this recipe will be a life saver!

Image

Okay let’s get ready to grill. If you’re in a rush, you might want to consider another recipe, some dry rub perhaps? I said that because this recipe requires some marinating and I didn’t want to mislead anyone 😉  Check out the ingredients for the grilled chicken.

Ingredients:

1 lb chicken thighs (you may also use the boneless, skinless variety)

3 tbsps low sodium soy sauce

1 tbsp balsamic vinegar

3 cloves garlic, minced

1 tbsp sriracha sauce

1 tbsp agave nectar

Freshly ground black pepper, about ½ tsp

A hint of lemon and lime juice

In a medium bowl, mix together the last seven ingredients until they are all well incorporated. Then transfer the mixture into a container with a tight cover.

Put the chicken thighs into the container then pour in the soy sauce mixture. Marinate for at least four hours. You would want the chicken to absorb the flavors really well.

Once done marinating, prep up the grill and turn the temp on medium. Grill the chicken for about 10 to 12 minutes per side. Adjust the heat accordingly. I know my grill gets hot easily so I had to adjust my temperature to medium low. I also basted my thighs with the left over marinade (no pun intended) 🙂

Serve with rice or any side dish of your choice.  As you can see, I served mine with grilled Brussels sprouts too! And that is a bonus recipe for anyone who loves veggies!

 

Grilled Brussels Sprouts

1 lb of fresh Brussels sprouts, halved or quartered

2 tbsps canola oil

1 tsp sea salt

½ black pepper

¼ tsp smoked paprika

A generous amount of Canola Baking Spray

I quartered my sprouts after rinsing, then pat dried them with paper towels. I placed them on my grill’s vegetable attachment as shown in the picture.

Image

I sprayed them with canola baking spray and season them with sea salt and pepper. I tossed them a bit before sprinkling them with smoked paprika. Then I sprayed them with more canola oil. Trust me, the sprout will need the moisture from the canola oil.

Why canola? I have experimented with oils and Brussels sprouts in the past and found that the canola oil does not leave a bitter after taste compared to olive oil.

Okay, back to business – Grill them on low for 10 to 15 minutes. You can certainly get the sprouts going while your chicken thighs are still grilling.

And there you have it, a scrumptious lunch or dinner in a jiffy!

                                                                                            Eat well and be well. – Ella Bella

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Grilled Asian-inspired Chicken Thighs (and Smoky Brussels Sprouts)

  1. Lindsey says:

    MMMM, I’ll have to try these!

  2. Pingback: Ella Bella’s Peach Mango Salsa | Ella Bella's Kitchen Adventures

Leave a Reply

