Seafood Pasta ala Ella Bella

Prep time: 5 to 7 minutes

Cooking Time: 15 to 20 minutes (including pasta)

Calories per serving: About 330 calories (based on 3 servings, per 2 oz of linguine each serving)

SP

Well, hello netizens!

Just like that, it’s July 1st! Where did the time go? Is it just me, or is time just flying by sooooo fast?

This is actually a late post. I was hoping to create something quick and delicious so I asked my dear husband to drive me to the Asian store after work about two weeks ago. I also had fresh squid in mind. I got about over a pound of squid and since it was just me who wanted them, I still had half of it after making a batch of crispy calamari.

I wouldn’t want anything good to go to waste so I thought seafood pasta would be great to have for lunch the next day.

For this recipe, I just checked out my pantry and used what I thought would work well together. Here’s a short list of what to use:

6 oz linguine (I use Pastene brand)

1 tbsp olive or canola or vegetable oil

3 cloves fresh garlic, minced

2 tbsps yellow onion, cubed

½ lb or more of fresh squid, cut into 1 inch rings

1 small can Diced Tomatoes With Green Chilies (about ¾ cup)

1 can minced clams (feel free to use fresh clams as well – I’m sure it’s even better!)

1/2 cup of green bell peppers, cut into bit size cubes (again, didn’t want to waste anything good so I used some in this recipe)

½ cup White Cooking Wine

A pinch of sea salt

A pinch of freshly ground black pepper

1 tbsp cornstarch, dissolved in 2 tbsps cool water

Cook pasta according to package directions. I’ve been doing the salt trick for a while now and it does work like a charm. To those who do not know the trick, especially Asians like me, try it. Just add a pinch of salt to your boiling water before adding in the pasta. This prevents stickiness 😉

While the pasta is cooking, sauté the garlic in medium heat, in a frying pan or wok. Add the onions. When garlic and onion are lightly browned, add the squid and keep sautéing for about 5 minutes. Add the clams, including the juice, then add the cooking wine and diced tomatoes as well as the peppers. Season with salt and pepper to taste. Let simmer for about 5 minutes.  Turn the heat down to low and add the cornstarch mixture. Give it a quick stir and let it thicken for a few minutes.

Image

Once the pasta is done, strain and set aside. Transfer on a plate and pour in the seafood pasta sauce. Serve with grated parmesan cheese or any other cheese of your choice.

Btw, in case you’re wondering if I ate the tentacles, sorry to disappoint but I did not. I have to admit I only used it for presentation. Of course, you may do so if you are the adventurous type! Happy cooking (and eating)!

            Eat well and be well. – Ella Bella

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Seafood Pasta ala Ella Bella

  1. ellapichette says:

    Reblogged this on Ella Bella's Kitchen Adventures and commented:

    Just testing to see if the new photo shows…there seems to be a glitch of some sort.

Leave a Reply

