Banana Hazel-nut Whole Wheat Muffins

Prep time: 5 to 7 minutes

Cooking Time: 22 to 25 minutes (18 if using small muffin tins)

Calories per serving: About 91 calories

Image

Oh boy! It feels great to be back on a healthy run! I feel like all the eating out I have done in the past week is telling my body I better stop before I gain back the 20 lbs I’ve worked so hard to lose 😉

Actually I still can’t believe I used my oven last night as hot as it has been here in Maine. Thank goodness for my industrial fan, I tell ya. I was really eager to bake something knowing that there are new folks joining the team so I wanted to make sure they are welcomed – the Ella Bella way.

So, you’re prolly wondering why I hyphenated hazelnut. Well, that is done on purpose. I used hazelnut spread and coconut, so that explains the hyphen 🙂

This is pretty easy to do. You still need an oven though. Here’s what you need:

3 medium sized ripe bananas, mashed

2 eggs (you may use just the egg whites if you wish to lower the calories further)

½ cup dark brown sugar

½ tsp vanilla extract

½ cup unsweetened apple sauce

1.5 cups Unbleached Whole Wheat Flour (I used King Arthur brand)

½ tsp baking soda

¼ tsp ground nutmeg

½ tsp ground cinnamon

1/3 cup chocolate chips (I used Hershey’s Special Dark), optional

1/3 cup hazelnut spread (feel free to use Nutella, I used Nature’s Place brand for mine)

¼ cup unsweetened coconut flakes (I used Bob’s Red Mill brand)

Preheat oven to 350 deg F (177 deg C).

Mash the bananas then set aside. In a medium bowl, cream the sugar and apple sauce. Add the eggs, one at a time. Give it a quick whisk then add the mashed bananas. Mix well. Add the vanilla, give it another whisk and set aside.

In a separate bowl, mix the dry ingredients (not including the choco chips and coconut flakes) together. Mix well. Incorporate the flour mixture to the banana mixture until everything is well mixed. Your batter will be thick and wet.

Spray your muffin tins with baking spray or line them with muffin cups. Fill each tin or cup halfway. Once all tins are half-filled, put in a teaspoon of the melted hazelnut spread on each then pour in some more banana mixture on each tin. Once they are done, give each of them a swirl with a bread knife or a fork. Sprinkle coconut flakes or mix them in. Add chocolate chips in each of the muffin too, if desired.

Image

Bake for 22 minutes. Cool for a few minutes, and attackkkk 🙂

These were another hit, folks, so I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as we did!

                                                                                    Eat well and be well. – Ella Bella

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

