Whole Wheat Cinnana (Cinnamon-Banana) Coffee Cake

Prep time: About 15 minutes

Baking Time: 42 to 45 minutes

Calories per serving (24 servings): 194

Image

OH MY GOODNESS!!! I can’t believe how much friends at work loved this coffee cake!  And yes, I think I just came up with a new word – CINNANA!!! Well, I guess it’s not original, bummer. I googled it before I posted this recipe and found that there were few others who have already used it…so much for the excitement, LOL!

So, I had some overripe bananas in my pantry so I was racking my brain as to what to do with them, while also thinking what my next blog post will be. After browsing through some of ideas, it all finally came together.

For the cake, mix together the first five ingredients. Then incorporate the dry ingredients until well blended. I used my hand mixer and it took me five minutes to get the mixing done. Ahhh, technology…;-)

3 ripe bananas, mashed (the riper the better)

1 cup brown sugar

½ cup unsalted butter, softened

½ cup unsweetened apple sauce

2 eggs

2 cups King Arthur – Premium 100% Whole Wheat Flour, or any wheat flour

1 cup Wheaties cereal, crushed

1 tsp salt

2 tsps baking powder

2 tsps baking soda

For the filling and topping, mix these in a separate mixing bowl:

1/3 cup Dark brown sugar

1 tbsp ground cinnamon

1/3 cup Hersheys – Cinnamon Chips, optional

1/3 cup Nestle Tollhouse Semi-sweet Chocolate Chips

¼ cup sliced almonds, optional

Preheat oven to 350 deg F.

Spray a 9 x 13 baking pan with a little bit of oil. Layer with cake batter until the bottom is covered (with about half of the batter). Spread ¾ of the filling until the first layer of batter is covered. Spread the remaining cake batter then top with the rest of the cinnamon mixture.

Bake for about 45 minutes. You can also test if it’s already done by sticking a toothpick into the cake. If it comes out clean, then it’s done.

Let it cool for a few minutes before slicing. It’s up to you if you want to serve bigger slices but I know a number of people in our office are conscious about their intake so I chose to slice them into smaller squares. Best enjoyed with coffee or tea, mmmmm!

Friendly tip: If you replace the butter with unsweetened apple sauce, your calories per cake will only be 165 🙂

                                                                                                   Eat well and be well. – Ella Bella

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Whole Wheat Cinnana (Cinnamon-Banana) Coffee Cake

  1. Lindsey says:

    These are genius. Cinnamon coffee cake meets chocolate cake meets banana bread- YUM!!

Leave a Reply

