Skinny Beef Penang Curry

Prep Time: About 5 minutes

Cooking Time: 45 to 60 minutes

Calories per serving: About 358 (6 servings)

Image

Recently, I tried Boda’s Beef Penang Curry and I couldn’t forget how good it tasted. Boda is Thai restaurant in Portland, Maine. Those who know me well would know that I rarely eat out, just a personal choice. Naturally, I wanted to try recreating the delicious dish in my own kitchen. So the search began…

I read a few recipes online to get some ideas especially with the right type of beef to use for my own version. I really only needed to get the beef, lemongrass and the curry paste since I had most of the other potential ingredients in my pantry.

These are the components of this appetizing recipe:

2 lbs (about a kilo) Cubed Steak, sliced into 1 inch cubes

1 can Thai Kitchen – Lite Coconut Milk

About ¼ cup water

2 tbsp Unfiltered Honey

4 tbsps Thai Kitchen Authentic – Red Curry Paste

2 tsps Gourmet Garden – Lemon Grass

1 tbsp natural, smooth peanut butter

4 tbsps (1/8 cup) A Taste of Thai – Fish Sauce

 

Slice the beef into one inch cubes. Set aside while heating a large sauté pan on medium high.

Separate the thick part of the coconut milk that rises to the top of the can from the rest of the contents of the can and add it to pan. Add the curry paste and stir constantly until it bubbles.

At this point, the coconut cream will start to separate. Let the mixture boil. Turn the heat up a bit then add the beef. Give it a stir until the beef is evenly coated with the mixture.

Add the rest of the coconut milk and some water (about ¼ cup), just enough to cover the beef. Then add fish sauce, lemon grass and honey. Let it boil.

Once boiling, turn the heat down and let it simmer gently for 45 minutes, stirring occasionally. Check to see if the beef is tender enough. If you think it needs more time, just let it continue simmering. At this point, you may add the peanut butter, and season with a little bit more fish sauce if you feel it needs more. The dish should be really tender after an hour of simmering and should be removed from heat.

My version may not be as great as Boda’s but I was told it was really tasty and made for a wonderful meal. I didn’t have kaffir lime leaves so I served mine with some dried parsley leaves, over freshly-cooked jasmine rice.  It’s definitely something I would make again. Hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

                                                                                                     Eat well and be well. – Ella Bella

Tidbit: According to Wikipedia, “Phanaeng curry is named after Penang island, an island which is located in Malaysia. In Penang, this dish is mostly served by the Malay and Peranakan people of Penang.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Skinny Beef Penang Curry

  1. Lindsey says:

    I was lucky enough to taste this, and it was better then most curries I’ve gotten from restaurants =)

Leave a Reply

