Ella Bella’s Mulligatawny Chicken Stew

Prep time: About 15 minutes

Cooking time: 45 minutes

Calories per serving (based on 4 servings, 1 chicken thigh per serving): 364

Image

“Oooooohhh, ahhhh!” That was my reaction when I saw a mulligatawny recipe on the recipe book my husband recently surprised me with. I first heard of mulligatawny in a Seinfeld episode. The character especially Kramer were going crazy about the mulligatawny soup! If you haven’t heard about Seinfeld, I think you’re missing out, LOL. If you are a fan of Seinfeld and have seen the Soup Nazi episode, then you’re prolly smiling as you read this 🙂

Ok, so as mentioned, my husband got me this recipe book, Reader’s Digest’s The Great Chicken Cookbook and I found this recipe. The recipe actually used chicken breasts but I wanted a tastier chicken part hence I got chicken thighs instead.

The ingredients called for in the original recipe used some different spices but I utilized what I had in my pantry. Here goes my list:

4 (1.5 lbs) Chicken thighs (with skin and bones)

2 tsps olive oil

½ tsp. curry powder (sub for 1 tsp turmeric)

1 tsp. parsley flakes (sub for 1 tsp coriander)

½ tsp cumin

3 cloves garlic, minced

¼ cup yellow onion, chopped

½ cup canned diced tomatoes (I used the one with some spicy peppers)

2 tsp seasalt, divided into 2

½ tsp ground ginger

½ tsp ground cinnamon

1.3 cup Light Coconut Milk (I used A Taste of Thai)

Ready to make some mulligatawny? Let’s doooo it!

In a medium skillet, heat the olive oil for about 3 minutes over medium heat, sauté the curry powder, parsley flakes and cumin for about a minute. Cook the chicken about 10 minutes each side. Once they’re golden brown, remove the chicken from fire and set aside on a plate and put the skillet back to the stove top.

Next, sweat the garlic and onion, add cauliflower and cook for about a minute or two. Add 1/3 cup of water, then cover and cook for about 3 minutes. Add tomatoes, a teaspoon of sea salt, cinnamon, and ginger and bring to a boil. Then return the chicken into the pan, reduce to a simmer and cook for another 10 minutes or until the chicken is cooked through.

Lastly, stir in the peas and coconut milk and cook uncovered for another 5 minutes. Serve over freshly cooked jasmine, or brown rice. Bon appétit!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ella Bella’s Mulligatawny Chicken Stew

  1. Lindsey says:

    I need to try this!! Seems easy and flavorful…I love that it uses strong spices with the coconut milk 🙂

  2. ellapichette says:

    Hi Linds! Let me know how your turns out. You love veggies so I think you will like it 🙂

Leave a Reply

