Beef Tapa ala Ella

Prep time: About 10 minutes

Wait time (for marinating): Minimum of 1 hour

Cooking time: 5 minutes

Calories per serving (4 servings): Only 155!

Image

Happy Valentine’s Day, everyone!

You must be going out on a date tonight or cooking something special for your loved ones. My husband and I traditionally do not celebrate so for today, I decided to make one of my favorites. Besides, it has been one heck of a work week so I decided to reward myself with this deliciousness!

Beef tapa is not just my favorite, but a Filipino favorite! I’m ecstatic to finally come up with a version that is really scrumptious yet a tad healthier than the alternative you can get at Filipino restaurants.

For this recipe, I used:

1 lb of Angus beef, shoulder steak thinly sliced

1 tbsp honey

1/3 cup light soy sauce

1 tsp apple cider vinegar

3 cloves of garlic, minced

Freshly ground black pepper, a dash

A dash of sea salt

Peanut oil for frying, about one tablespoon per serving

Slice the beef into 2 inch thin strips. Set aside.

In a small bowl, combine soy sauce, garlic, apple cider vinegar, pepper and honey until the honey is well dissolved. Mix in the beef strips. Put in a ziplock bag or airtight container and marinate for at least one hour.

Fry beef strips in peanut oil in medium heat for about 5 to 7 minutes. Easy, right?

Serve with brown rice or garlic fried rice and fried egg. Salted duck egg works very well too! I love spice so I dipped my cooked beef strips in Pinakurat (spiced vinegar). Pinakurat can be found in Asian stores, in the Filipino aisle 🙂

Image

Hope you enjoy this dish!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Beef Tapa ala Ella

  1. yisraela says:

    Wow! This isnt just interesting… But i like it a lot! Apart from the fact that I am really not into cooking.. simple recipes like this makes me want to try it. I love beef tapa and yeah it really goes well with pinakurat. Thanks for posting this recipe ellabella!

  2. ellapichette says:

    You’re welcome, Yisraela! You don’t have to use angus beef btw, you can try it using thin sliced beef cuts like sirloin 🙂

  3. ellapichette says:

    Oh, just wanted to add that the calorie count is just for the beef 🙂

  4. Lindsey says:

    MMmmmm gotta try this, my honey would love it 😉 And thanks for the sauce suggestion!

Leave a Reply

