Delightful Spinach and Feta-stuffed Chicken Breast

Preparation time: 15 to 20 minutes
Cooking time: 40 minutes

Image

What you need:

1 lb (2.2 kgs) boneless, skinless chicken breasts

4 oz feta crumbles

1.5 cups fresh spinach, sautéed in garlic and oil

¼ cup green bell pepper, diced

2 tbsp olive oil (canola would work too)

2 tbsp Cajun seasoning

1 tbsp breadcrumbs (I used Italian style, plain)

½ tsp sea salt

Freshly ground black pepper

Lots of toothpicks

Chicken lovers, I’m positive you would go gaga over this recipe! It’s fresh, earthy and delicious, guaranteed 🙂

It’s been almost a year not since I started counting calories. Since I do not like having the same food over and over again, I am always in the lookout for interesting recipes. This is one of the reasons why I believe I can create adventures in my kitchen.

I adapted this recipe from another blog that I found on pinterest, (http://cuckooking.blogspot.com/2010/08/cajun-chicken-with-pepper-jack-cheese.html). I only had to get some chicken breast and decided to use the fresh ingredients I had in the fridge. I despise wasting food so I really try to use up the ingredients that I have to modify recipes and come up with my own.

Now that you know what ingredients I used, let’s get to the how to….

Sauté your garlic and spinach in a tablespoon of olive or canola oil in medium heat. Add a little bit of salt and pepper to taste. Cook the spinach for about 3 to 4 minutes. Set aside. Once it’s cooled down a bit, add the feta crumbles, diced bell pepper and season with a bit more pepper if desired. I’d rather under season than overdo it.

In a small bowl, mix together the Cajun seasoning and bread crumbs. Set aside.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F (177 deg C).

Prep up your chicken breasts. They should be about 2 to 3 inches thick. Rinse them in water and pat dry with paper towels. Make an incision in the middle of each breast, just enough to get it stuffed with the yummy filling. Make sure you have toothpicks ready.

Stuff each chicken breast with the spinach filling. Seal the stuffed chicken using toothpicks. Patience is essential in this process 🙂  It will be important to use enough toothpicks to make sure the filling is not oozing. Brush the remaining olive or canola oil on each chicken breast and sprinkle the Cajun mixture on both sides of the chicken as evenly as possible. Be careful as you turn the chicken as the sharp edges of the toothpick may prick you!

Place the seasoned and sealed chicken breasts in a greased shallow pan or line the pan with aluminum foil. Allot about 2 inches of space between breasts. Trust me it’s so much easier to clean your pan this way! This is how it looks like:

Image

Bake these at 350 deg F for 35 to 40 minutes. Let them cool for a few minutes before removing the toothpicks. I like serving them sliced but you may also serve them as a whole breast. Since it has a spinach filling, you pretty much have a side dish already. I tried eating mine with some cooked jasmine rice and it was great. It’s also awesome as a stand-alone dish. Oh and it’s just 271 calories for each breast! I’d like to know how yours turned out. Bon appétit!

Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

