Hearty Camote (Sweet Potato) Soup

Prep Time: About 20 minutes

Cooking time: 6 hours on low or 3 hours on high using a crockpot; stove top, about an hour on medium low heat

Number of servings: 4 medium bowls (about 1.5 cups)

Calories per serving: 107 amazing calories!

sweet potato soup

Winter time makes me crave a good, hearty and warm soup. Since I had some sweet potatoes left from last week, I thought I could make a soup out of these babies. I also wanted to put my crockpot into good use so I decided to make soup in my crockpot, my favorite kitchen gadget 🙂

This recipe is really easy to make. It’s perfect for the cold weather and also ideal for working moms as well as anyone who has a hectic schedule. If you’re using the crockpot, you literally just need to put together the ingredients and let it cook on low for 6 hours or so.

Let me share with you all ingredients I put together for this tasty soup recipe:

2 medium size sweet potatoes, either grated or cubed

3 medium size carrots, sliced or grated

2 cups low sodium chicken broth

2 cloves of garlic

½ cup chopped onions

Pinch of ground sage

Pinch of cayenne pepper (optional)

White cooking wine, 2 tbsps (optional)

Salt and pepper to taste

Grate or cube the sweet potatoes and carrots. Put them on separate bowls. If you cube the sweet potatoes, it will be necessary to boil them for about 15 minutes on high just so they are soft enough to be blended. Drain the sweet potatoes in a colander. Once they’ve cooled down for about 10 minutes, put them in a blender or food processor and blend until it’s pureed. Put the pureed mixture into the crockpot, mix in the rest of the ingredients and cook on low for 6 to 8 hours.  No crockpot? No problem. You may also cook this in a pot on the stovetop on low for about an hour. Garnish with fresh scallions or parsley. Some folks might prefer it with a little bit of greek yogurt or sour cream. It’s your call!

I think it will be interesting to note that Filipinos like me are used to sweet potatoes being made into a dessert or snack, not something savory. One of the reasons why I wanted to share this was to introduce a savory option to the Asian palate.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hearty Camote (Sweet Potato) Soup

  1. Lindsey says:

    MMM now you have me craving soup! I bet it is luscious. Also, thanks for the interesting note about how Filipinos traditionally eat sweet potato!

Leave a Reply

