Dark Chocolate Candy Cane Truffle Surprise

I’ve been making truffles for years. I used to get orders during the holidays when I was still in the Philippines. What some people don’t realize about truffles is that they’re easy to make. There’s absolutely no reason to feel intimidated!

Image

All you need is a few ingredients and a little creativity and you’ll be all set.

I have tried making truffles with heavy cream. Recently, I experimented with lite whipped topping since I wanted to cut down on calories and fat and I have to I’m happy with the results.

Are you ready you make your truffles? So here we go. All you really need are two basic ingredients:

1 12oz package of Hershey’s Special Dark Chocolate Chips

1 cup lite whipped topping (you can also use ¾ cup of all purpose cream if whipped topping is not available or accessible)

Image

You heard that right, just two, and then some.

I found some Hershey’s candy cane kisses at my local CVS the other day and I thought of using them for my truffles and cookies and I knew they were going to be good!

Directions:

Melt the chocolate chips in low heat, about 5 minutes. Make sure you watch it while melting as you would want to mix them so they don’t burn. Once they’re almost melted, mix in the cream until they’re well blended and smooth. Your mixture must be thick. Remove from heat and let cool. Once it has cooled down, refrigerate for about 30 minutes.

Shape chilled chocolate into a 1 inch ball. Cut in half and put a candy cane kiss in between then roll again to a ball. If you wish, you can also grind up some of the kisses using the food processor or chop them up into fine pieces or just use the grater. You can roll your truffles onto the ground kisses so you know which ones are which especially if you’re making a variety. Once ready, put the truffles in a covered container and chill in the fridge until ready to be consumed. This recipe yields 18 to 24 truffles and is just 100 calories per truffle.

Here’s a photo of the variety I made for our family gathering on Christmas. I always make some with coconut, powdered sugar, ground nuts, ground mint chips and sprinkles (which is always a hit with the kiddos!). Good luck! Let me know how yours came out 🙂

Image

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dark Chocolate Candy Cane Truffle Surprise

  1. Lindsey says:

    Wow, so colorful and pretty! I tried the coconut one I believe…. delicious!

Leave a Reply

