Ella’s Skinny Donuts (Baked Donuts made even healthier)

skinny donuts 1

I love donuts, but since I started calorie-counting, I’ve been avoiding it like the plague. Of course, I was on a mission to make some that will allow me to enjoy them with less guilt.

On New Year’s Day, the family agreed to get art supplies at AC Moore so we can paint together as a family. We had these great 50% off coupons which were good until the 5th. We needed more acrylic and watercolor pads so we swung by the store on our way home from a family day in New Hampshire. After we got what we needed, I thought of checking what else they had in the store as it seemed they had some baking items too. I wasn’t expecting to find the donut pan that I’ve been wanting to get! I knew I just had to get one.

Making these treats is actually really easy! For this recipe, you will need:

2 cups of all purpose flour (original recipe called for cake flour but I was out hence the substitution)

3/4 cup of sugar

2 teaspoons of baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon nutmeg

1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon

3/4 cup of buttermilk (see note below for a low calorie alternative)

2 eggs

2 tablespoons of unsweetened apple sauce

1/2 teaspoon of vanilla

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (177 degrees C).

Mix the dry ingredients. Once they are mixed well, add the wet ingredients gradually until everything is mixed together.

Scoop the mixture into the donut pan and fill each cup about 2/3 to 3/4 of the way. This is how much I put in each cup so you have reference.

Image

Bake donuts for 7 to 8 minutes. Here’s how they looked like after 8 minutes.

Image

Let cool for about 5 minutes.

While cooling the donuts, you can make your dark chocolate frosting. I melted 1/2 cup of dark chocolate chips and 3 tablespoons of lite whipped topping on low and added a tablespoon of hot water and let it achieve a consistency that’s not too thick.

I dipped 4 of the 6 donuts in chocolate and made the other two with cinnamon sugar. Wanna know how? See notes below.

I let the frosted donuts cool further on my cooling rack for a few minutes and stored them in the covered container. I made the first batch after my usual eating hours so I had to restrain myself from eating more than one. My husband tried both variants and said he really loved the chocolate frosted ones! I’m not surprised though as I know he’s crazy about chocolate.

As you can see I also put sprinkles in one of them, just so they all look really pretty and a little different 🙂

This recipe makes 12 donuts. I wanted them fresh so I refrigerated the rest of the batter overnight and made another batch for my friends at work. It was definitely a delight to everyone who had one. They said it’s light and yummy, just the way I wanted them to be.

Some notes/tips: For the Cinnamon Sugar Donuts, I replaced melted butter with unsweetened apple sauce and it was a success! So much healthier, yay!

No buttermilk? No problem. Make your own buttermilk by mixing 1 tbsp to one cup of 2% milk and let it sit in room temperature for 5 minutes. I wanted to make my recipe even healthier so I tried using my unsweetened almond milk and it worked just fine. Props to this site where I learned this trick: http://frugalliving.about.com/od/condimentsandspices/r/Buttermilk_Sub.htm

I did the math for calories using myfitnesspal.com. Unfrosted donuts are just 141 calories while the chocolate frosted ones are just 201 calories each. The cinnamon ones are 156 calories! Ahhh, I sure am glad to be able to snack on donuts again!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

