Bagoong Fried Rice ala Ella

Number of Servings: 6

Calories per serving: Only about 288

Approximate prep time: About 20 minutes; cooking time: about 12 to 15 minutes

Image

Bagoong (shrimp paste) and green mango are two of my most favorite food combos. For Christmas, I got myself a big box of Filipino goodies. Naturally, I got a big bottle of Barrio Fiesta bagoong. I already made Pork Binagoongan and Kare-kare in 2012 so I pondered on what recipe I should make with bagoong this January. My taste buds suddenly craved green mangoes so I thought, well, I actually miss this Thai-Filipino recipe which I used to get in the food court in Alabang Town Center (one of the Philippine malls I used to go to with friends). It is this awesome recipe called Bagoong Fried Rice.

It’s kind of a bummer to not get Philippine mangoes here, even in the Asian stores. Philippine mangoes are some of the best in the world as they say. The green mangoes are eaten like a vegetable. It’s sour, crunchy and really fresh. It goes good with something salty hence a perfect pair to bagoong or even fish sauce with some chili in it.

So much for Philippine mangoes that I couldn’t have…hahaha! One of the things I love about Bagoong Fried Rice is the other fresh elements that make it a complete, healthy meal. I’m sure once you learn to make this, you would prefer making it yourself rather than buying takeout.

 

Here are the ingredients:

Long Grain Instant Brown Rice, cooked, about 6 cups

Sauteed Shrimp Paste (Bagoong Alamang Guisado), 4 tbsp (about ¼ cup)

Cooked Shrimp – Medium, approximately 15 shrimp

Canola Oil, 2 tbsp (14g)                

1 Medium egg, scrambled          

3 cloves of garlic, minced

1 green mango, sliced into thin strips

½ an onion, sliced (I used yellow but feel free to use red)

 

Promise this is easy peasy. Here goes – heat canola oil in medium heat then saute the minced garlic until golden brown. Mix in the brown rice and shrimp paste and stir fry for about 10 minutes. Take off from heat and transfer to a plate. Top with strips of scrambled egg, sliced/cubed roma tomatoes, sauteed shrimp (or whatever meat you added to the bunch) sliced onions, mango strips and fresh green onions. I hope you enjoy the exotic Asian flavors of this recipe!

 

A few notes: If made with white rice, the calories go up to 324 per serving. Using just egg whites can also decrease the calories to 34 (2 eggs, whites only) while using one large egg has 124 calories.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

