Creamy Tuyo Pesto Pasta

For my first blog, I decided to stay true to my heritage. As a Filipina, I have been brought up to be practical so I thought to myself, what better way to launch your blog site but with something that followers close to my heart would love!

Tuyo (dried fish) is a staple in many poor families’ dinner tables in PI. It is cheap, yes, but what people don’t realize is that there is certainly a way to make it gourmet. Don’t get intimated though because gourmet doesn’t mean difficult to make.

020

For this recipe, you will need:

Roland – Pesto, 2 tbsp

Generic – Garlic Cloves, Minced, 3 cloves

Sour Cream – Fat Free, 3 Tbsp

Tuyo – Filipino- Dried Salted Herring, 1 oz. (about 6 pieces of dried fish, deboned)

Italia Garden – Italian Lemon Juice, 1 tsp

Pasta – Barilla Spaghetti, 100 g (about a quarter of the box)

Chili flakes, ¼ tsp.

Ground pepper, a pinch

Extra Virgin Olive Oil (a.k.a EVOO), 2 tbsp.

Parmesan Cheese (optional), 2 tsps.

Tuyo is usually really salty. If you’re using whole dried fish like I did, I suggest boiling them in water for about 8 minutes. Drain and set aside until cool enough to debone. This method reduces the saltiness of the tuyo.

Cook pasta as directed. Once ready, toss in 1 tbsp of EVOO, chili flakes and ground pepper. Set aside.

In a medium to large size frying pan or wok, on medium heat, add a tbsp of EVOO for about 2 minutes. Stir in 2 tbsps of garlic until lightly browned, then add the pesto. After about 2 minutes, add in the tuyo flakes. Saute for about 2 minutes then add the sour cream and lemon juice until well mixed. Remove from heat and mix in the pasta. Top with parmesan if preferred. Serve warm.

This recipe has just 234 calories per serving! Of course it will add some more if you top it with grated parmesan.

Btw, I have seen bottled tuyo flakes in Asian stores before but I haven’t tried using them in my recipes. I bet that will be much more convenient and would cut down the total prep time to half. Enjoy this healthy and tasty pasta recipe, folks!

Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

