Skinny Crepes

Number of Servings: 4

Calorie count: About 110 calories per crepe

Adapted from: http://blog.williams-sonoma.com/todays-recipe-peaches-cream-crepes/

Image

I love crepes! In the past I’ve always thought it was too much of a pain to make. Back home in the Philippines, the crepe vendor offers a wide variety for about $2.00 a piece so I wasn’t really worried about not getting my fix whenever I felt like it.

Of course, the price here in Portland, Maine is much more than $2.00 so even though there is a crepe vendor outside the building where I work at, I refuse to buy any. Ha! What a cheapskate, huh? Hey, I was brought up by my mom to be practical so there…

I have to admit my Pinterest addiction has gotten me motivated to learn making crepes. I have seen countless recipes and can say that this version is the most successful, at least in my opinion. I think skipping the corn meal won’t hurt a bit but it does give it a better texture.

Ingredients:

Pure Almond Milk – Vanilla, ½ cup (2% milk will work just fine) Note though that a cup of 2% milk = 122 cals, unsweetened almond milk is just equal to 40 cals

King Arthur Flour – Unbleached All Purpose Flour, 1/4 Cup

Goya – Enriched Fine Yellow Corn Meal, ¼ cup

Vanilla extract, 1 tsp

Egg – 1 Large, beaten

Lemon Juice, 1 tsp (fresh lemon juice or calamansi would work good too)

Greek-Style Lowfat Yogurt , Plain, 1/4 cup

Okay so how do we do this? In a medium bowl, mix in the egg, greek yogurt, vanilla, almond milk and lemon juice. Once all the wet ingredients are mixed well, stir in the flour  and corn meal until well mixed.

Then in a medium pan, heat about a teaspoon of canola or corn oil in medium heat. Once it’s hot enough, pour in about 3 tbps of the batter, tilt the pan until the batter in spread on the pan evenly. The crepe should be ready to be flipped after about 1 minute or two. Use a wide spatula to flip it.

For my toppings, I used a dash of confectioner’s sugar and ground cinnamon and lite whipped topping mixed in with fresh strawberries (about ½ cup, sliced) as filling. Flipping the crepe can be tricky; they won’t be a guaranteed success every time. This is exactly what happens to me almost every single time, hahaha. If you’re like me who doesn’t like wasting anything, you’d find ways to use the imperfect crepe – so what I did was come up with a deconstructed version. I just put it on the plate, top it with lite whipped cream, strawberries and bananas and chocolate syrup.

The great thing about crepes is that you can keep ready-made ones in the fridge for a few days and just warm it up in a pan. You can also use savory toppings like bacon bits, corn nibblets, fresh tomatoes, ahhhh, the possibilities are endless! Of course, you have to keep in mind that the calorie count will go up if you do that. Alrighty, time to savor the rest of my crepes! See ya all later :)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Skinny Crepes

  1. Lindsey says:

    Miss Ella Bella, these look delicious! I’ve never heard of using corn meal in a crepe, so thanks for the tip. Congrats on the launch and I’ll be looking forward to seeing more!!!!!

Leave a Reply

